## INTRODUCTION

The Australian Commonwealth Specialists' Catalogue was first published in 1926 by S. Orlo-Smith & Co., a leading Melbourne stamp dealer. After 14 editions the catalogue was sold in 1953 to C.E. Norden, who published two editions under the imprint of Australian Stamp Auctions. The catalogue was then acquired by The Hawthorn Press, which published 24 annual editions up to 1980. Ownership then passed to Seven Seas Stamps Pty. Ltd. which published two editions in 1981 and 1983.

Following acquisition of the catalogue in 1987 Brusden-White converted the format to a loose-leaf

one and the revised catalogue appeared in 1988.

The aims of The Australian Commonwealth Specialists' Catalogue are:

To establish and maintain a catalogue for specialists and all collectors interested in Australian Commonwealth stamps.

To enable collectors to understand and expand their collections of these stamps, by supplying more detailed and illustrated information.

To provide an accurate and detailed reference for dealers when serving their clients.

The publishers are cognisant of the fact that the standard handbook on the stamps of the Commonwealth of Australia has not been published since 1968 and is out-of-print, and now contains much information that is out-of-date and inaccurate. No new edition of this work seems likely in the near future, and this catalogue now serves as the major work of reference on Australian Commonwealth stamps.

## **ACKNOWLEDGMENTS**

The present publisher and editors are indebted to their predecessors for the time and energy expended on the catalogue to make the listings as accurate and informative as possible.

The previous editors were:

S. Orlo-Smith 1926-1952 C.E. Norden 1953-1954

Rev. J.C.W. Brown 1956-1965

J.P. Meara 1968-1983

A.J. White 1988-1992

These editors in turn were dependent on information supplied by numerous collectors over the years. Individual acknowledgements will be given in each Section to the best of the present editors'